top of page

String Quartet "Delphiniums"

ca. 22 minutes

Completed in early 2014, the String Quartet "Delphiniums" is one of my most colorful works. The first movement draws on inspiration from the beauty of nature and the impressionistic qualities of Debussy and Ravel's music. The second movement continues in this style but it much more aggressive. The third movement take a turn for somber yet romantic with inspiration coming most from Barber's Adagio for Strings. The last movement is yet another character exemplifying minimalist qualities with themes from the earlier movements. 


One of the most interesting aspects of this composition is its use the golden section, primarily in the third movement. I made a concerted effort to make the climax occur at the golden section of the movement. A mathematical puzzle, I created the climax at the golden section of the movement not only in regards to time, but also measures, and even to the individual beat. Having composed the third movement of the quartet first, I decided to surround this movement with three others, carefully crafting them so that the climax of the third movement would be the climax of the entire quartet. Mathematically, I made sure that this climax in the third movement would occur not only at the golden section for the movement but for the entire quartet.

The third movement of the quartet quickly became my pride and joy of the quartet after it was so well received by my colleagues. This reception inspired me to orchestrate this movement into a piece for string orchestra, Threnody. Since, Threnody has received multiple performances each moving audiences with its luscious melodies and melancholy cadences.

Score and parts available for purchase.

Perusal score available on request.

Click here to access the contact page.


bottom of page