top of page



for pierrot ensemble

With "Cosmos" my initial idea was to create a music that illustrated the "hustle and bustle" of everyday life. The title "Cosmos," essentially the same as the Greek word "κόσμος," describes the entire universe and the constant motion of the spheres. More specifically, the Greek form of the word refers to the universe as a complex, yet orderly, system. While this piece is mostly in 11/8 time and may sound chaotic, it is actually comprised of only a few key motives that are repeated hundreds of times and layered in an organized fashion. Similarly, just as the Earth and the universe around us continue in constant motion, the piece exhibits a perpetual motion quality with constant eighth notes throughout.

Cosmos was premiered by the Bold City Contemporary Ensemble in Spring 2019 during their residency with the University of Florida. Subsequently, it was chosen by the BCCE for a short US tour where additional performances of the work were given.

Score and parts available for purchase.

Perusal score available on request.

Click here to access the contact page.


Flute, Clarinet, Vibraphone (optional), Violin, Cello, and Piano


Duration: About 6 minutes


bottom of page