top of page


for piano trio

Written for the traditional piano trio ensemble, Bookends is a new take on an old tradition. A loose sonata form with two main themes dictate the shape of this work. The two themes are characterized by steps, one of them based on whole steps and the other based on half steps. This back and forth leads to much drama between sections each bookended by an iconic chord. All of this is exacerbated by an ever increasing tempo from "Grave" at the beginning to "Precipitato" at the end.

Bookends was premiered in November 2016 by Claire Niederberger, violin, Andrew Cavazos, cello, and Mary Katherine Schober, piano on a University of Houston composition recital. An additional performance by the same performers was given in November 2016 on UH's Honors Composition Recital. Bookends was featured for a third performance in March 2018 on the composer's Master's recital performed by Roberto de Guzman, clarinet, Andrew Cavazos, cello, and Wesley Ducote, piano.



Violin, Cello, and Piano

Version for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano available


Duration: About 9 minutes


Score and parts available for purchase.

Perusal score available on request.

Click here to access the contact page.


bottom of page